House approves marriage equality; four Republicans vote in favor, two Dems against [UPDATE]

dibble clark.jpeg
The Sen. Scott Dibble/Rep. Karen Clark marriage equality bill won approval in the House.
This afternoon, the House approved marriage equality by a 75 -59 vote. Sixty-eight votes were needed for passage.

SEE ALSO: Minnesota for Marriage's Hinckley rally was the biggest megafail in the history of megafails [VIDEO]

The Senate plans to take up a companion bill on Monday. If it also wins approval in that chamber, it would then be signed into law by Governor Mark Dayton.

In the days leading up to this afternoon's vote, it was unclear whether any Republicans would vote in favor of the bill. Four ended up doing so -- Rep. David FitzSimmons, R-Albertville; Rep. Jenifer Loon, R-Eden Prairie; Rep. Andrea Kieffer, R-Woodbury; and Rep. Pat Garofalo, R-Farmington.

Two DFLers voted against the bill -- Rep. Patti Fritz, D-Faribault, and Rep. Mary Sawatzky, D-Willmar.

According to the Faribault Daily News, Fritz said yesterday she'd "vote with her district," which leans to the right.

The Strib's Jennifer Brooks captured the post-vote reaction among marriage equality supporters in the Capitol: On the other side of the issue, an anti-marriage equality MNGOP Representative from Andover was feeling very different emotions: If the bill is ultimately signed into law by Gov. Dayton, it would make Minnesota the 12th state to legalize gay marriage.

-- Follow Aaron Rupar on Twitter at @atrupar. Got a tip? Drop him a line at

Sponsor Content

Minnesota Concert Tickets

From the Vault