Walker Art Center announces 2014-15 performing arts season

Categories: Announcements, Art
WiseBloodAlexLemonCottman.jpg
L-R: "Wise Blood," Cineastas, Kenna-Camara Cottman
Every year, the Walker Art Center plans a creatively eclectic schedule that features music off the beaten path, modern dance, experimental theater, and original commissions. For its 75th season, the museum has slated a variety of happenings, including collaborations with the Cedar, the Soap Factory, and the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. The schedule also includes the return of popular series such as Choreographers' Evening (this year Kenna-Camara Cottman will curate) and Out There. As usual, there are also a few exciting collaborations, such as the project featuring dancer Chris Schlichting, visual artist Jennifer Davis, and Alpha Consumer.

Take a look at the entire schedule after the jump.

Ralph Lemon
Scaffold Room
September 26-28

World Premiere/Walker Commission
7 and 9:30 p.m. Friday; 8 p.m. Saturday; 7 p.m. Sunday
Burnet Gallery
$25

Ralph Lemon
Meditation (a film installation)
September (dates and times TBA)

Free with gallery admission

Ana Tijoux

Concert is co-presented with the Cedar
8 p.m. Saturday, October 4
$20 ($18)
At the Cedar

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas
Rosas Danst Rosas

Co-presented with Northrop at the University of Minnesota
8 p.m. Wednesday through Friday, October 15-17
$32 ($28)

Ryoji Ikeda
superposition

8 p.m. Friday-Saturday, October 24-25
$28

Miranda July
New Society

8 p.m. Thursday-Friday, October 30-31, 8 pm
A world premiere
$30

Faustin Linyekula and Panaibra Gabriel Canda

Tales of Home: Congo/Mozambique

Friday-Saturday, November 7-8
$22

Faustin Linyekula
Le Cargo

8 p.m. Friday, November 7

Panaibra Gabriel Canda

Time and Spaces: The Marrabenta Solos
8 p.m.  Saturday, November 8

Steve Paxton
Composing Forward: The Art of Steve Paxton

November 13-22
Free Thursday; $25 Friday-Saturday, $25

Talking Dance with Steve Paxton

7 p.m. Thursday, November 13
Free

Bound


8 p.m. Friday, November 14

Night Stand

8 p.m.  Friday-Saturday, November 21-22

Dawn of Midi and Nils Frahm


Co-presented with the SPCO's Liquid Music series

7 p.m. Saturday, November 15
$15
Amsterdam Bar & Hall

Choreographers' Evening

Curated by Kenna-Camara Cottman

7 and 9:30 p.m. Saturday, November 29
$25

Omar Souleyman

Co-presented with the Cedar
8 p.m. Friday, December 5
$25; $30 day of show
The Cedar

OUT THERE 2015
January 8-31
8 p.m.
$20 Thursdays; $25 Fridays-Saturdays

Richard Maxwell/New York City Players
Custodian of a Man

8 p.m. Thursday-Saturday, January 8-10

CAMPO/Pieter Ampe and Guilherme Garrido
Still Standing You

8 p.m. Thursday-Saturday, January 15-17

Mariano Pensotti
Cineastas

8 p.m. Thursday-Saturday, January 22-24

Lucidity Suitcase Intercontinental
Thaddeus Phillips and the Wilhelm Bros. & Co.
RED-EYE TO HAVRE DE GRACE

8 p.m. January 29-31

Chris Schlichting
With Jennifer Davis and Alpha Consumer (Jeremy Ylvisaker, Mike Lewis, JT Bates)
Stripe Tease (working title)

8 p.m. Thursday-Saturday, February 19-21
$25

The Campbell Brothers perform John Coltrane's
A Love Supreme

Co-presented with the Cedar
8 p.m. Thursday, February 26
$25

Jack DeJohnette's Made in Chicago
With Roscoe Mitchell, Muhal Richard Abrams, and Henry Threadgill

8 p.m. Thursday, March 12
$35

Tere O'Connor Dance
BLEED

8 p.m. Thursday-Saturday, March 19-21
$28

The Music of Bryce Dessner


Co-presented with the SPCO's Liquid Music series
8 p.m. Friday-Saturday, April 3-4
$25

Border Music: David Hidalgo and Marc Ribot

Co-presented with the Cedar
8 p.m. Saturday, April 18
$30; $35
The Cedar

Jason Moran & Robert Glasper

8 p.m. Saturday, May 2
$28

Victoire/Glasser/Noveller

Co-presented with the SPCO's Liquid Music series
8 p.m. Saturday, May 9
$22

"WISE BLOOD"

Co-presented and co-commissioned with the Soap Factory
8 p.m. Thursday-Sunday, June 4-7 and 11-14
The Soap Factory
$32

Location Info

Map

Walker Art Center

1750 Hennepin Ave., Minneapolis, MN

Category: Film

My Voice Nation Help

Now Trending

Minnesota Concert Tickets

From the Vault

 

Loading...