The Hold Steady set to release new album

Photo by Stacy Schwartz
Local favorites (and former locals) the Hold Steady have announced their plans for a follow-up record to 2008's Stay Positive: their fifth studio album, Heaven is Whenever, will drop on May 4. According to the Hold Steady's site, the new album is much more guitar-heavy than their previous work, which isn't surprising given the recent departure of keyboard and accordion player Franz Nicolai (who left amicably last month to work on other projects).

Here's a preview of the track listing:

1. The Sweet Part of the City
2. Soft in the Center
3. The Weekenders
4. The Smidge
5. Rock Problems
6. We Can Get Together
7. Hurricane J
8. Barely Breathing
9. Our Whole Lives
10. A Slight Discomfort

The band has also announced the first leg of a spring tour to support the new album, but they don't appear to have any local dates planned at the moment. Check out their official site for more information.

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help

Now Trending

Minnesota Concert Tickets

From the Vault