Dark Dark Dark announce U.S. tour supporting Who Needs Who, record release show at the Cedar

DarkDarkDark_byTodSeelie.jpg
Photo By Tod Seelie

Minneapolis by-way-of New Orleans chamber folk outfit Dark Dark Dark have just announced the track listing and release date of their forthcoming new record, Who Needs Who. Their third full-length will be released on October 2, and the band has announced a large U.S. tour to celebrate their bold, striking new work.

Their tour kicks off with an intimate, hometown record release show at the Cedar Cultural Center on October 3, with Emily Wells and Mountain Man (who just supported Feist at the Zoo) serving as opening acts.

The new songs were mostly written by Nona Marie Invie in Minneapolis and arranged and recorded in New Orleans with longtime songwriting partner Marshall LaCount along with the rest of the band, who have solidified into a definitive quintet with Adam Wozniak on bass, Walter McClements on trumpet/accordion, and Mark Trecka on drums. Who Needs Who was once again produced by Tom Herbers, whose attentive and accomplished ear has repeatedly helped guide Dark Dark Dark along their musical journey.


The first single from Who Needs Who is the touching piano ballad, "Tell Me," which features Invie's rich, plaintive vocals over a lilting piano line, augmented by LaCount's edgy but understated electric guitar riff. The rest of the record is equally as striking, and this confident, heartrending collection of new songs will surely help launch Dark Dark Dark into a brighter musical spotlight in 2012, as will their large forthcoming U.S. tour.

Tickets for Dark Dark Dark's Cedar Cultural Center show are on sale now, and can be purchased here for $13.

whoneedswhoalbumart.jpg


Here is the current list of Dark Dark Dark's 2012 tour dates, with Emily Wells opening all of the shows except the Chicago performance:

DARK DARK DARK 2012 TOUR DATES:

Wed. Oct. 3 - Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center (w/ Emily Wells and Mountain Man)

Sat. Oct. 6 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas w/ Angel Olsen

Mon. Oct. 8 - Hudson, NY @ Helsinki Hudson

Tue. Oct. 9 - Allston, MA @ Great Scott

Wed. Oct. 10 - Pawtucket, RI @ The Met

Thu. Oct. 11 - Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse Music Hall

Fri. Oct. 12 - Brooklyn, NY @ The Knitting Factory

Sat. Oct. 13 - New York, NY @ Le Poisson Rouge

Sun. Oct. 14 - Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery

Mon. Oct. 15 - Washington, DC @ DC9

Tue. Oct. 16 - Durham, NC @ The Pinhook

Wed. Oct. 17 - Atlanta, GA @ 529

Thu. Oct. 18 - New Orleans, LA @ Cafe Istanbul

Fri. Oct. 19 - Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald's

Sat. Oct. 20 - Austin, TX @ Holy Mountain

Sun. Oct. 21 - Denton, TX @ Dan's Silverleaf

Wed. Oct. 24 - Santa Fe, NM @ Santa Fe Sol

Fri. Oct. 26 - Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive

Sat. Oct. 27 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court

Sun. Oct. 28 - Garden City, ID @ Visual Arts Collective

Mon. Oct. 29 - Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile

Tue. Oct. 30 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom

Thu. Nov. 1 - Santa Rosa, CA @ Arlene Francis Theatre

Fri. Nov. 2 - Oakland, CA @ The New Parish

Sat. Nov. 3 - San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill

Mon. Nov. 5 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex

Tue. Nov. 6 - San Diego, CA @ Luce Loft


City Pages on Facebook | Gimme Noise on Facebook | Twitter | e-mail us

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help
0 comments

Now Trending

Minnesota Concert Tickets

From the Vault

 

Loading...