Bob Dylan reveals The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait


As any die-hard Bob Dylan fan knows, his studio albums represent a fraction of his prolific creative output. Many of Dylan's gems never received an official release until years after they were recorded, whether through the Bootleg Series or the Basement Tapes, but many legendary sessions remain available solely as acclaimed unreleased recordings pored over by collectors -- like Dylan's early radio sessions with both Cynthia Gooding and Studs Terkel, the Minnesota Tapes, and the Blood On The Tracks outtakes, which many claim are better than the versions that eventually made it onto the record.

But Dylan's ongoing Bootleg Series has done a fantastic job of opening up the vault of vaunted unreleased material, combining those treasured unreleased and live songs along with insightful, percipient essays from those involved in the recordings and ensconced in the scene at the time.

On August 27, Dylan is set to release The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait, which focuses on his divisive period from 1969-71, drawing from unreleased studio sessions and live recordings from the Self Portrait and New Morning era.

See Also:
Bob Dylan at Midway Stadium, 7/10/13
The birth and death of Bob Dylan's Americana dream

Dylan has created a new painting (below) which serves as the cover art for Another Self Portrait (just like he infamously did for the album's original release), and has made various editions of the new Bootleg Series are available to fans. There will be a standard two-disc set like the recent Bootleg Series releases, as well as a triple-LP vinyl version which will contain a 12" x 12" booklet.

There is also a massive, four-disc deluxe edition version planned, which will contain the 35 tracks found on the other releases, as well as an entire live recording from Bob Dylan and the Band taken from their celebrated 1969 Isle of Wight performance, issued here for the very first time. In addition to that exclusive bonus disc, the deluxe edition will also feature a remastered version of Self Portrait (with original sequencing), and two hardcover books with updated liner notes written by the venerable Dylan/music scribe Greil Marcus (who notoriously wrote "What is this shit?" in his initial Rolling Stone review of Self Portrait).

Those of you who were lucky enough to nab a copy of Dylan's recent Record Store Day exclusive 7" got a small taste of what's to come on the new Bootleg Series, with both the demo version of "Wigwam" and an unreleased recording of "Thirsty Boots" both finding their way onto Another Self Portrait.

Here is the full tracklisting and album art for The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait (1969-1971), as well as the stellar setlist for Dylan and the Band's Isle of Wight performance:


The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)
CD 1

1 Went To See The Gypsy (demo)
2 In Search Of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
3 Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)
4 Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)
5 Spanish Is The Loving Tongue (unreleased, Self Portrait)
6 Annie's Going To Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait)
7 Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)
8 Only A Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
9 Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
10 I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
11 Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)
12 Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)
14 These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)
15 Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
16 House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)
17 All The Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)
CD 2

1 If Not For You (alternate version, New Morning)
2 Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)
3 Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
4 Days Of '49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
5 Working On A Guru (unreleased, New Morning)
6 Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
7 I'll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
8 Highway 61 Revisited (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
9 Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
10 Bring Me A Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)
11 Sign On The Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
12 Tattle O'Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)
14 New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
15 Went To See The Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)
16 Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
17 Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)
18 When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)

Bob Dylan & The Band
Isle of Wight - August 31, 1969

1 She Belongs To Me
2 I Threw It All Away
3 Maggie's Farm
4 Wild Mountain Thyme
5 It Ain't Me, Babe
6 To Ramona/ Mr. Tambourine Man
7 I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
8 Lay Lady Lay
9 Highway 61 Revisited
10 One Too Many Mornings
11 I Pity The Poor Immigrant
12 Like A Rolling Stone
13 I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
14 Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
15 Minstrel Boy
16 Rainy Day Women #12 & 35

Sponsor Content

Now Trending

Minnesota Concert Tickets

From the Vault